Lower Division Foreign Language Courses

The College of LLL regularly offers first- and second-year courses in more than 25 languages, with a broad coverage of Asian, European, and Indo-Pacific languages. In addition, you get 3-16 free back-credits in any of these languages (for more information about back credits, click here). Please refer to the department or area below for more information.

Department of East Asian Languages & Literatures

Department of Indo-Pacific Languages & Literatures

Department of Languages & Literatures of Europe and the Americas


Department of East Asian Languages & Literatures

Language Contact persons and program websites (click on the program name) Sample course syllabi (click on the course name/number)
Chinese Chinese Program

Dr. Robert Huey (Chinese Section Head, huey@hawaii.edu)
CHN101
CHN102
CHN201
CHN202
Japanese Japanese Program

Dr. Kazue Kanno (Japanese section head, kanno@hawaii.edu)
JPN101
JPN102
JPN105
JPN111
JPN112
JPN201
JPN202
JPN211
JPN212
Korean Korean Program

Dr. Mary Kim (Korean Section Head, maryskim@hawaii.edu)
KOR101
KOR102
KOR111
KOR201
KOR202
KOR205



Department of Indo-Pacific Languages & Literatures

Language Contact persons and program websites (click on the program name) Sample course syllabi (click on the course name/number)
Arabic Arabic Program

Dr. Adly Mirza (adly@hawaii.edu)
 
Chamorro Chamorro ProgramBrant Songsong (brants@hawaii.edu) For course information, please contact the department.
Filipino Filipino Program

Dr. Pia Arboleda (Filipino Coordinator, pca62@hawaii.edu)
FIL101
FIL102
FIL201
FIL202
Hindi/Urdu Hindi Program

Dr. Sai Bhatawadekar (saib@hawaii.edu)
HNDI101
HNDI102
HNDI201
HNDI202
Ilokano Ilokano Program

Dr. Aurelio Agcaoili (Ilokano Coordinator, aurelioa@hawaii.edu)
ILO101
ILO102
ILO201
ILO202
Indonesian Indonesian Program

Dr. Ulrich Kozok (kozok@hawaii.edu)
IND103/104
IND203/204
Khmer/Cambodian Khmer/Cambodian Program

Dr. Chhany Sak-Humphry (sak@hawaii.edu)
CAM101
CAM102
CAM201
CAM202
Maori Maori Program

Dr. Te Raukura Roa (roat@hawaii.edu)
MAO101
MAO102
MAO201
MAO202
Persian Persian Program

Dr. Ladan Hamedani (hamedani@hawaii.edu)
PERS101
PERS102
PERS201
PERS202
Samoan Samoan Program

Dr. Manumau Fata Simanu-Klutz (fata@hawaii.edu)
SAM101
SAM102
SAM201
SAM202
Sanskrit Sanskrit Program

Dr. Jesse Knutson (knutson@hawaii.edu)
SNSK181
SNSK182
SNSK281
SNSK282
Tahitian Tahitian Program

Steve Chailloux (stevecha@hawaii.edu)
 
Thai Thai Program

Dr. Yuphaphann Hoonchamlong (yuphapha@hawaii.edu)
THAI101
THAI102
THAI201
THAI202
Tongan Tongan ProgramAmelia Pasi (pasi@hawaii.edu) For course information, please contact the department.
Vietnamese Vietnamese Program

Dr. Stephen O‘Harrow (soh@hawaii.edu)
 


Department of Languages & Literatures of Europe and the Americas

Language Contact persons and program websites (click on the program name) Sample course syllabi (click on the course name/number)
French French Program

Dr. Louis Bousquet (French Division Chair, lb2010@hawaii.edu)

Joan Debrah (First and Second Year Coordinator, joand@hawaii.edu)
FR101
FR102
FR201
FR202
German German Program

Dr. Maryann Overstreet (German Division Chair, overst@hawaii.edu)
GER101
GER102
GER201
GER202
Spanish Spanish Program

Dr. Marta Gonzalez-Lloret (Spanish Division Chair, marta@hawaii.edu)

Dr. Benito Quintana (Undergraduate Advisor,  benitoq@hawaii.edu)
SPAN101
SPAN102
SPAN201
SPAN202
Latin Latin Program

Dr. Robert J. Littman (Classics Division Chair, littman@hawaii.edu)
LATN101
LATN102
LATN201
LATN202
Ancient Greek Greek Program

Dr. Robert J. Littman (Classics Division Chair, littman@hawaii.edu)
GRK101
GRK102
GRK201
GRK202
Russian Russian Program

Dr. Anastasia Kostetskaya (Russian Division Chair, kostetsk@hawaii.edu)
RUS201
Italian Italian Program

Dr. Louis Bousquet (French Division Chair, lb2010@hawaii.edu)
 
Portuguese Portuguese Program

Dr. Marta Gonzalez-Lloret (Spanish/Portuguese Division Chair, marta@hawaii.edu)