Lower Division Foreign Language and American Sign Language (ASL) Syllabi

The College of LLL regularly offers first- and second-year courses in more than 25 languages, with a broad coverage of Asian, European, and Indo-Pacific languages. In addition, you get 3-16 free back-credits in any of these languages (for more information about back credits, click here). Please refer to the department or area below for more information.

Department of East Asian Languages & Literatures

Department of Linguistics

Department of Indo-Pacific Languages & Literatures

Department of Languages & Literatures of Europe and the Americas


Department of East Asian Languages & Literatures

Language Contact persons and program websites (click on the program name) Sample course syllabi (click on the course name/number)
Chinese Chinese Program

Dr. Song Jiang (Chinese Section Head, sjiang@hawaii.edu)
CHN101
CHN102
CHN201
CHN202
Japanese Japanese Program

Dr. Robert Huey (Japanese section head, huey@hawaii.edu)
JPN101
JPN102
JPN105
JPN201
JPN202
Korean Korean Program

Dr. Mary Kim (Korean Section Head, maryskim@hawaii.edu)
KOR101
KOR102
KOR111
KOR201
KOR202
KOR205


Department of Linguistics

Language Contact persons and program websites (click on the program name) Sample course syllabi (click on the course name/number)
American Sign Language (ASL) ASL Program

Dr. Kamil Deen (Dept. Chair, kamil@hawaii.edu)

ASL101
ASL102
ASL201
ASL202


Department of Indo-Pacific Languages & Literatures

 

Language Contact persons and program websites (click on the program name) Sample course syllabi (click on the course name/number)
Arabic Arabic Program

Dr. Adly Mirza (adly@hawaii.edu)
 
Chamorro Chamorro Program

Brant Songsong brants@hawaii.edu)

 
Filipino Filipino Program

Dr. Pia Arboleda (Filipino Coordinator, pca62@hawaii.edu)
FIL101
FIL102
FIL201
FIL202
Hindi/Urdu Hindi Program

Dr. Sai Bhatawadekar (saib@hawaii.edu)
HNDI101
HNDI102
HNDI201
HNDI202
Ilokano Ilokano Program

Mr. Dean Domingo (Ilokano Coordinator, deand@hawaii.edu)
ILO101
ILO102
ILO201
ILO202
Indonesian Indonesian Program

Dr. Ulrich Kozok (kozok@hawaii.edu)
IND103/104
IND203/204
Khmer/Cambodian Khmer/Cambodian Program

Dr. Chhany Sak-Humphry (sak@hawaii.edu)
CAM101
CAM102
CAM201
CAM202
Maori Maori Program

Dr. Te Raukura Roa (roat@hawaii.edu)
MAO101
MAO102
MAO201
MAO202
Samoan Samoan Program

Dr. John Mayer (jmayer@hawaii.edu)
SAM101
SAM102
SAM201
SAM202
Sanskrit Sanskrit Program

Dr. Jesse Knutson (knutson@hawaii.edu)
SNSK181
SNSK182
SNSK281
SNSK282
Tahitian Tahitian Program

Keao NeSmith (kumukeao@gmail.com)
 
Thai Thai Program

Dr. Yuphaphann Hoonchamlong (yuphapha@hawaii.edu)
THAI101
THAI102
THAI201
THAI202
Tongan Tongan Program

Ms. Amelia Pasi (pasi@hawaii.edu)

 
Vietnamese Vietnamese Program

Ms. Hang Le (minhhang@hawaii.edu)
 


Department of Languages & Literatures of Europe and the Americas

Language Contact persons and program websites (click on the program name) Sample course syllabi (click on the course name/number)
French French Program

Dr. Louis Bousquet (French Division Chair, lb2010@hawaii.edu)
FR101
FR102
FR201
FR202
German German Program

Dr. Maryann Overstreet (German Division Chair, overst@hawaii.edu)
GER101
GER102
GER201
GER202
Spanish Spanish Program

Dr. Lucia Aranda (Spanish Division Chair, laranda@hawaii.edu)
SPAN101
SPAN102
SPAN201
SPAN202
Latin Latin Program

Dr. Daniel Harris-McCoy (Classics Division Chair, harrismc@hawaii.edu)
LATN101
LATN102
LATN201
LATN202
Ancient Greek Greek Program

Dr. Daniel Harris-McCoy (Classics Division Chair, harrismc@hawaii.edu)
GRK101
GRK102
GRK201
GRK202
Russian Russian Program

Dr. Anastasia Kostetskaya (Russian Division Chair, kostetsk@hawaii.edu)
RUS201
Italian Italian Program

Dr. Louis Bousquet (French Division Chair, lb2010@hawaii.edu)
 
Portuguese Portuguese Program

Dr. Lucia Aranda (Spanish/Portuguese Division Chair, laranda@hawaii.edu)